1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Pedo applicant

Discussion in 'Dental Residents and Practicing Dentists' started by PedoZ, Apr 5, 2007.

1. PedoZ

5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Hi everybody
    I graduated last year,I want to apply for pedo this summer.I want to know what I have to do to strenghten my resume( working in pedo clinic,research,volunteer works,...).I'm wondering that working in pedo clinic is good or bad?I heard different things about it.
    Thanks.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Cold Front

Cold Front Supreme Member
    Dentist 10+ Year Member

Dentist
    I think it depends on your academic profile. If you have good stats, then you don't have to worry too much about these EC's.

I would like to hear what others have to say about this too.

4. ItsGavinC

Dentist Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Dentist
    I think ECs are important to pedo applications, especially when it relates to how much pedo patient contact you've had. But having said that, working at a pedo mill (especially one where GPs are doing all the tx.) doesn't help your application.

5. Leokazumahyon

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    I'll be starting D school this summer, and I have a strong interest in pedo. What do you suggest I be doing from the very start?

6. LonestarYankee

2+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    i'll give you the "no-brain" answer: keep your grades/class rank high, do well on the nbde, and then evaluate your situation and "how competitive" your cv is at that point. in my opinion, research in d-school is totally unnecessary. pick a few schools you are interested in and (IMPORTANTLY!) do some externships which allow a little face time with the program director. it's absolutely true that pedo is a lot about personality, but good rank and scores will open up more doors. good luck.

7. Leokazumahyon

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental