Craigielawson

2+ Year Member
Feb 6, 2015
I'll make this as quick as I can.

I'm a 3rd year DO student. Some days, I am wholeheartedly convinced what I want to do. The next, I regret that choice. I got into medicine so I could do pediatric cardiology...born with congenital issues...wanted to give back to medicine and connect with patients. I LOVE the (patho)physiology of Peds Cards. However, I just don't see myself lighting up whenever I converse with a kid; I would absolutely hate being a general pediatrician if i couldn't get into pediatrics. I could care less about milestones or random rashes.

As for adult cardiology, I would also hate doing internal medicine for the 3 years (and as a DO, it's a bit harder to be an adult cardiologist). Plus, I don't really want to go back to being blue in the face because of how many times I have to tell people to stop smoking or lose weight. As for the general stuff, everything about the word "refer" just irritates me to no end. I've quickly realized I hate knowing a little about everything in medicine and I need to be an expert in a field. Needless to say, I am a week into my internal medicine rotation and I am bored out of my mind. Not to mention, I cannot stand patients with problems like "low back pain." Thus, if I weren't to get a fellowship in either IM or Peds, I don't think I would be very happy with life.