Penn secondary-at LEAST 3 letters from research mentors?

physicsMD

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 15, 2002
Visit site
Status
OK,
I feel bad for all you undergrads because I'm a grad student and even I will have trouble with this. I have a research mentor from undergrad, and one as a grad student, thats 2. I suppose I could ask an assistant professor who works in my lab to write one, but thats another letter to wait on. Is this somewhat flexible? Or does there HAVE to be 3?

Neuronix

Total nerd
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Mar 14, 2002
the beach
Status
Attending Physician
That's not just Penn, there's several secondaries I've seen so far that required three LORs for the MSTP committee.

I've been in two labs, the first had two PIs I worked with, so that took care of itself. I don't know what you're supposed to do otherwise. I think your only other option would be to get LORs from post-docs or LORs from science professors and send them in.

J

jot

whoa i didn't know abou taht - i'm lucky to have 3, thats practically like mandating 3 different research experiences at least.

About the Ads

shamus1

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 18, 2002
Visit site
Status
When you have questions like this, you really should contact the MD/PhD office to get the answer. At Penn, Maggie Krall is very helpful and you can be sure that she will give you the right answer.