Penn State vs. Temple

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Longbottom7

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm a student in the philly area who is from Hershey. Oddly enough, I got into a school at both places, Temple in philly and Penn State in Hershey. I've been weighing the two for weeks and still cannot decide. Each school seems to have its strengths and weaknesses, although it's tough to tell whats important, and also what is important for ME.

My fam is still in hershey, my friends are in philly (and will continue to be there). So the external factors cancel. I may benefit a bit financially by going to psu, but socially by going to temple.

knocks on psu: poor usmle preparation, very conservative, and not a lot of student autonomy/students are babied a bit, push primary care (i'm not sure what field i'm interested in yet)
knocks on temple: facilities in general blow, education in years 1+2 not as rounded/dynamic (no PBL, humanities, etc)., potentially more expensive

I also got into GW but am STILL waiting to hear from them and their price tag is something to laugh at esp considering living expenses in DC.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Longbottom7 said:
knocks on psu: poor usmle preparation, very conservative, and not a lot of student autonomy/students are babied a bit, push primary care (i'm not sure what field i'm interested in yet)

who told you there is poor usmle prep? i've heard the opposite. the very conservative part is fo sho. i agree, this is gonna be a tough one for you.
-dr. mota