neurodork

10+ Year Member
Dec 28, 2006
Status
Pre-Medical
I have been accepted at both of these schools (I am a Texas resident), and I have no idea how to decide which one I should attend. Both seem like very good schools, and I would like to hear input from anyone else with opinions on these two schools. Thanks! :)

BlueCow

10+ Year Member
Sep 27, 2006
Status
Penn State because they have a better football team and it is the BIG TEN Conference.

ChubbyChaser

Yummmy
10+ Year Member
Apr 14, 2007
Status
Medical Student
Reputation is probably equal...so tuition being sign less at A and M...

A and M ftw

America = The New Texas
10+ Year Member
Oct 23, 2007
Status
First, congrats! This is an awesome "problem" to have! :D

I was accepted to A&M and OOS schools this cycle and had to make a similar decisions. I'm not that informed about Penn State, but here's my 2 cents on A&M:

1. Probably one of the most supportive administrative staffs and faculty I have ever come across (IS and OOS). The students seem happy, well adjusted, and generally enjoy the program.

2. College station is a cool little college town, and offers a great many opportunities to cut loose and have a little fun. Temple didn't seem to be the greatest town in the world, but Scott & White is a world class hospital (and, in my opinion, just plain pretty :p) and Austin is just down the road a hop and a skip away.

3. When asking a number of attendings I know in the Texas Medical Center in Houston (mostly BCM facutly), the consensus opinion was that A&M students generally have a reputation as being very well prepared for the clinical setting and do well on the floor from day one both as externing medical students and interning residents.

4. Cost cost cost. Texas tuition is cheap, and A&M's low cost of living helps you to cut additional cost. From what I saw in investigating where/how students live, it seems that students are able to live VERY comfortably and get a really good bang for their buck.