1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Penn versus Davis, opinions anyone?

Discussion in 'Pre-Veterinary' started by uvraysgirl, Feb 18, 2007.

1. uvraysgirl

Pre-Veterinary
    :idea: So I've been stalking these online forums for a few weeks, but this is my first post. I had an interview at Penn on Friday and received my phone call with my acceptance yesterday!!!! (So excited!!!) I'm a California resident, so I have an interview at Davis on the 26th (I broke the Davis/Penn rivalry by getting in to Penn, I know). Davis was my top choice before, but I was really impressed with Penn. The weather isn't great, it's a bit pricey, and the commute to the New Bolton Center might be a pain in the butt, but I really loved the high tech facilities and the faculty and students seemed incredibly nice and come from diverse backgrounds. I am interested in equine, possibly sports medicine, so it seems like Penn has the best equine program and is right smack in prime horse country, so they have a really high caseload.

Anyone have any opinions about the two schools? Comparing their equine programs and also student life (students, faculty, living in Philly, etc..)? I'm worried Davis might be very homogenous since they admit very few out of staters, although I love California. Davis is ranked #1 in the country, would I be an idiot not to go there and save on tuition and enjoy the nice weather? I'm not accepted at Davis yet, but if I'd rather go to Penn, I'd like to pull out now so hopefully they can give someone else my spot. I'd appreciate some advice! Comparing vet schools is just something my non-vet friends can't offer much help on. Thanks and congrats to the other people on Friday who got in!

2. Emio

Emio Fudge Bane
    7+ Year Member

Veterinarian