Penn w/ Dean's or UMDNJ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Switch

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm a new jersey resident, and i'm having a hard time deciding between umdnj (my state school) and penn w. a dean's scholarship. there were things i liked and disliked about each place. it'll be helpful to read people's opinions on this before making my decision. thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Straight from the mouth of a UPenn grad/former prof dentist that I work with was, "Go to whichever school is cheapest." But additionally important, go where you think you'll be happiest. I'm going to NJDS. I know I'll get used to Newark and I feel I'll become a perfectly competent dentist there. Plus, for me, the price tag was cheaper than the other schools I was accepted at. Btw, congrats on getting that dean's scholarship because that's no small feat. :thumbup:

I am in the same situation except w/ Ohio State... Just out of curiosity, what where the things you liked/didn't like about Penn?

I liked some of the things that Penn has and other schools don't: externship abroad, selectives, sim lab, aids clinic. (Not sure if the externship abroad is a viable option for me since you still have to pay tuition and foot the bill for travel and stay expenses) The campus was beautiful and the three staff and one faculty member I met seemed really nice.

I did not like that we met with so few students and profs, I really don't have a good idea of what the culture of the school is like. The student I talked to didn't have anything to say that helped out very much. Also, the basement lived up to its "dungeon" rep and I wasn't very impressed by the main clinic. Maybe the school is better than it seemed when I visited and they just didn't "sell" it as well?

Members don't see this ad :)
with the dean's scholarship, hands down UPenn!!