people's thoughts about my situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newnimproved

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to know people's opinions about my chances of obtaining a spot in medical school next year. I am a biomedical engineering student at a top 10 school with a minor in chemistry. I have a 3.1 cum gpa and science gpa with a 32 on the MCAT (9 VR, 13 PS, 10 BS). I have done about a year of research, volunteered for about 350+ total hours, and work about 15 hours a week during the school year. I have leadership experiences and solid LORs. I feel like I'm an ideal candidate barring my low gpa. Thoughts? Questions? Concerns? I appreciate blunt honesty.

Members don't see this ad.

You might have a chance at your in-state medical school or D.O. school. Medical Schools dont care about work load or the undergraduate school you went to. Its all about the grades. 32 is a good MCAT score, but its average.

You might have a chance at your in-state medical school or D.O. school. Medical Schools dont care about work load or the undergraduate school you went to. Its all about the grades. 32 is a good MCAT score, but its average.

I'm gonna have to go ahead and disagree with you there. Workload plays a part. Someone who had to work their way thru school is going to see some leniancy on their GPA, granted it doesn't make up for a 3.1. You may need to do a post-bacc. Average MCAT nationwide is 30.4, so 32 is good, unless ur from California. Unless you saved some dying babies though that GPA gives you a slim shot.

Members don't see this ad :)