Perfect vision, corrected vision, contacts, glasses, etc.?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What sort of vision do you have?

• Perfect vision since the day you were born.

Votes: 31 18.2%
  • Lasik Surgery.

Votes: 8 4.7%
  • Contact Lenses.

Votes: 83 48.8%
  • Glasses.

Votes: 82 48.2%
  • Something else. Please post your response below.

Votes: 12 7.1%

• Total voters

JohnnyQ

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What are your experiences with Lasik, contacts, glasses, etc.? Maybe you have 20/20 vision without any sort of treatment? What % of pre-meds do you think have some sort of visual impairment?

Members don't see this ad.

I have been wearing glasses/contacts for about 8 years now. I HATE contacts. I cannot wear them more that 5 hours without them being annoying. I wear glasses most of the time....

There is a thread on this in the allopathic forum, do a search.

I have read a few places that your eyes could unpredictably change prescription anytime until you are 24. This scares me so I'm sticking to glasses until then. Even then, I fear that my eyes might be damaged and that could hurt me if I one day decide to become a surgeon.... J

You shouldn't get LASIK at this time in your life. I'm a glasses/contacts guy and I normally wear my contacts over my glasses (95% vs 5%). Acuvue Advance with Hydraclear for the win.

Members don't see this ad :)
You shouldn't get LASIK at this time in your life.

Why?!! I got lasik in 2000, best money ever spent. Seriously. I went from blind as a bat, nearsighted with astigmatism, to 20/20, still holding strong 8 years later. I'm an athlete, and not having to deal with contacts (much less glasses) has been fantastic.

PS. Don't forget to add your grade on this to your mdapps, everyone! :p

Contacts since I was 12. I got glasses at age 4 but really wanted contacts for sports.