permanent ambulatory care job vs. federal contract job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clarkbar

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm torn between starting a private, full-time ambulatory care job and a full-time federal facility hospital job, but through a staff agency for an eight month contract with possibility for renewal...

I have some IV experience and LTC experience, but my hospital experience is limited to some rotations some time ago in school. I will need some training wheels, so to speak for drugs and care centering around surgery.

Is there any training in staffing jobs when you get to the facility? How difficult is the transition from LTC to inpatient staffing? What is the nature of working for a staffing company? If the facility doesn't like an employee, is thrown to the wolves or reassigned? How valuable is federal experience if one wants to be a federal employee in the future? Ultimately, this is where I want to be.

Thank you for your support!

Members don't see this ad.

Federal contractor job DOES NOT EQUAL TO federal job. You do not get federal benefits, and are not treated as a current federal employee when being ranked by HR on job applications. Take the private am care job, since it's permanent.

Reactions: 1 users
Federal contractor job DOES NOT EQUAL TO federal job. You do not get federal benefits, and are not treated as a current federal employee when being ranked by HR on job applications. Take the private am care job, since it's permanent.

And if I know where you're talking about, there's a reason why it's contract despite everything else. It's probably not worth the environmental headache.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Federal contractor would've been good in the days when they made bank but those days are long gone.