Pharm to Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Thegron

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have looked at other threads but I can't find one that relates well enough to my own situation. I apologize if I am asking a question that has already been asked.

I did three years undergrad and now I'm a first year pharm student. I'm applying to med schools soon and studying for the MCAT. I will list my academic credentials below.

Undergrad GPA: 3.54 (sophomore and junior year cumulative: 3.91)
PCAT: 92nd percentile
Pharm school GPA: 3.98

Now let's assume for a second that I get at least a 33 on the MCAT.

I don't have a bachelors degree... however, I have 117 credits (I took a lot of summer classes) and I will have way more than that after a couple more semesters of Pharm school. By doing so well so far in Pharm school I'm hoping to demonstrate that I can handle a more intensive course of study than was seen previously in undergrad.

Now let's also assume that there are plenty of Med schools that will take my application even though I don't technically have a bachelors degree.

I figure that 117 is basically a bachelors equivalent even without all of my Pharm credits. Do you think they will see it that way? I think not having the diploma is my main setback but I am hoping that my sheer number of credits will assuage any fears that they may have.

-Thegron

Members don't see this ad.

I have looked at other threads but I can't find one that relates well enough to my own situation. I apologize if I am asking a question that has already been asked.

I did three years undergrad and now I'm a first year pharm student. I'm applying to med schools soon and studying for the MCAT. I will list my academic credentials below.

Undergrad GPA: 3.54 (sophomore and junior year cumulative: 3.91)
PCAT: 92nd percentile
Pharm school GPA: 3.98

Now let's assume for a second that I get at least a 33 on the MCAT.