student12399

5+ Year Member
Nov 3, 2013
I'm currently a sophomore in college. I have taken all of the prereqs for Rutgers pharmacy so far and I consider myself as a pre-pharmacy/chemistry major. Since high school I had my mind set on becoming a pharmacist. But lately I've heard from so many people and websites like indeed.com from pharmacists themselves that pharmacy is not what it used to be and it is boring and stressful. So this got me into thinking about becoming a high school chemistry teacher since I absolutely love teaching and science! I also love passing down my knowledge and helping others.
I have worked as a science and SAT tutor and based on my experience I know that I love teaching. I am not so sure about pharmacy since I LOVE learning about medications and science, but I have no idea what the actual profession is like first hand. Since h.s. I've been trying to get a job as a pharm tech but had no luck with that. Pharmacy or teaching chemistry are my only two options since I am a female and don't want to spend too long of a time in school since I wish to have a family in the future (God willing).

So here are my options:
- get my BS in chemistry (and minor with my school's honors college - of which I get a small scholarship from) and become a h.s. chemistry teacher (and if anything get my MBA or higher in the future). however would doing this limit myself from my full potential?
- OR become a pharmacist, learn about medicines (something which i also love) and apply chemistry to the real world (but also go through the stress of applying to rutgers pharmacy and taking the PCAT, getting letters of recommendation, etc.)