Pharmacist wanting to become DO residency question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flyers0806

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pharmacist, just turned 30 years old. I truly do not see myself doing this career for 30 more years and have always been interested in DO school. Here is my question and issue I'm struggling with. I currently have a likely forever house, pharmacist husband with his ideal job here. I am interested in applying to DO school close to here, and my stats are very competitive.

This is my question- I live near a city with many residency opportunities. Is it possible to apply for residency if I am not very relocatable? I can't see moving my husband, leaving my house and family, however there are opportunities here. Is this asking too much and something I should forget about.

Thanks for any input.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a pharmacist, just turned 30 years old. I truly do not see myself doing this career for 30 more years and have always been interested in DO school. Here is my question and issue I'm struggling with. I currently have a likely forever house, pharmacist husband with his ideal job here. I am interested in applying to DO school close to here, and my stats are very competitive.

This is my question- I live near a city with many residency opportunities. Is it possible to apply for residency if I am not very relocatable? I can't see moving my husband, leaving my house and family, however there are opportunities here. Is this asking too much and something I should forget about.

Thanks for any input.

The only way that you might stay in the same location for residency is if you're fine with either FM, weak IM programs, or Peds.

Chances are that you're going to move somewhere for residency if you are not interested in these fields.

Reactions: 3 users

Thanks for any input.