Pharmacy residency, will I get into one?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jointhepharm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am an international student who is in the P3 year of pharmacy school in the US. I want to do a residency for sure. I am in Rho Chi honor society, also the treasurer of it. My GPA is 3.6 right now. I got into the competitive research fellowship of my school last year. I got one paper published in this June, another one is in press. I am also lucky enough to be able to do my internship in one of the top hospitals in the U.S., and I have already completed my extra intern hours for the board exam. I have several questions.

1/If I were not an international student, what would be the probability that I would get in a pharmacy residency program?

2/I am thinking about using up my OPT to complete my PGY1, and hopefully get sponsored a working visa for PGY2, is that possible?

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

1/If I were not an international student, what would be the probability that I would get in a pharmacy residency program?
depend on the programs you apply, and your other characteristics: clinical skill, communication skill, interpersonal skills etc
2/I am thinking about using up my OPT to complete my PGY1, and hopefully get sponsored a working visa for PGY2, is that possible?
it's possible. you need to start doing research on which programs accept international students. a lot of program only accept US citizens or permanent residents. Or you can find an American to marry soon (just kidding)