Pharmacy School Questions.. (I'm having doubts)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TrishaPoo

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to the forum and I read through some of topics and they were so helpful! Today I was having doubts about becoming a pharmacist. I'm currently a freshman at a UC school (University of California) and hoping to be a pharmd student after I receive my bachelors. I'm planning to become a International Studies major and enter pharm school after I graduate. As of now, I received a C (I forgot if it was a C+ or just regular C) in my first quarter of general chemistry. Also thsi quarter, I think I'm doing C work. I know chemistry is a huge part of pharmacy and I'm having doubts if I'll even make it far enough as in being accepted to pharm school. I know I need to work harder. So I was wondering if any of you who were accepted to USC or UCSD pharm schools had some trouble in undergraduate work? Like were you all straight A's and B's student or did you have some C's in your course work? Also, if you guys know about Western Pharm School (in Pomona), is it a bad school? I know their requirements are a little bit lower than the other pharm schools in California. So sorry for the long post, but I'm having doubts about my future and it's making me sad. :(

Members don't see this ad.

Firstly, cool down. Alot of students have hard time in chemistry. The chemisty taught in pharmacy school is very different and so don't worry about you not been good in chemistry. Yes, there are tons of student with C's in chemistry who have been accepted to both pharmacy and medical schools. So, you still have an EXCELLENT shot in gaining acceptance. Plus, it is your freshman year and no big deal is made out of it. Change your study habbits and improve on your weak points. By the way, a C in chemistry is good.