MD & DO Pharmacy student considering medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Digsbe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a third year pharmacy student (P3) in a Pharm.D. program and I'm on track to graduate in 2016. I've had medical school as a thought in my mind since my first year and as graduation gets closer I am more strongly considering applying to medical school after I graduate from pharmacy school. I already understand that financially it might not be the best decision, but I'd rather go into more debt and secure having a job I love for the rest of my life over going through my career always thinking "what if" or disliking where I'm at. I'm not really interested in doing community pharmacy (working for Walgreens, CVS, etc) and clinical pharmacy interests me but at this point I'm more interested in practicing medicine over doing a pharmacy residency. The area of medicine I'm most interested in is internal medicine and oncology. My favorite classes in pharmacy school have been physiology, biochemistry, immuno/viro and our pharmacotherapy courses which look at organ systems, disease states, the basics of diagnosis for these diseases, how to monitor them in order to deem if more pharmacotherapy is needed or needs to be discontinued with the heaviest focus being on how to treat the conditions using drugs as well as the basics of drug-drug interactions or adverse drug effects to watch out for and monitor. I love learning about the diagnostics that we do study in pharmacy school and the treatment aspects. This is an interest of mine and the more I go through school the more I believe that I want to practice medicine. I really love interacting with patients and having more direct patient care experiences.