Pharmacy Technician Jobs (not retail)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jvinny

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'll be graduating with a BS in June and heading back home. The plan is to work as a pharm tech for the next year or so before I hopefully go to pharmacy school.

I've been working at CVS for almost 8 months now but I want to try a different pharmacy setting (hospital, clinic, long-term facilities, or compounding) when I move back home and before I attend pharmacy school. As I'm searching through job ads, I've noticed that most of these types of pharmacies require at least 2 years experience (some say retail is fine but a lot say in a hospital-type setting, which I obviously don't have).

Should I stop bothering looking for this type of pharm tech job and just go for retail? Or are there ways around it, such as volunteering at a hospital or applying for per diems positions and hoping they'll eventually offer a part-time/full-time position?

And in the event that I do get called in for an interview, should I try to evade the question "what are your future plans?" knowing that there's a possibility I'll only be working there for a year? Because I hear most hospital settings prefer to hire people who plan to be there for a couple of years.

Hoping someone can give me some insight please!

Members don't see this ad.

I'll offer my own experience.