PhD after MD in international school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Val7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I am an international student just finishing up med school in Europe, where I an from.
I want to get ECFMG certified in the next year while doing research in the US and then apply to a PhD program in the US.
I don't have any research experience yet but will have at least a year once I apply (dont know about future publications...)
What are my chances to get in?
What can I do to improve my chances? Do I have any "red flags"?
Would it be easier to do residency and fellowship first and then do a PhD or the other way around? I am thinking PhD first would be the way to go but correct me if I am wrong.
If anyone is in the same boat, please contact me!

Thanks,
Val

Members don't see this ad.

What do you hope to gain from a PhD? I fail to see any compelling reason for getting a PhD after medical school when you'd be well-prepared for a faculty job by going through a research-intensive fellowship.

Many foreign physicians seem to get a PhD in hopes of increasing their competitiveness for residency in the US, but it seems to be unusual for it to actually make a difference.

And if you are already competitive for residency, you are likely to actually be decreasing your chances due to increasing time since graduation.

Members don't see this ad :)