PhD applying to MD- would love to hear AMCAS experiences from PhDs in Med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justkeepswimming520

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I have a PhD in immunology/ Microbiology (graduated 2019) December and am currently a post doc in a clinical lab. I’m applying this cycle for matriculation in 2021. I have been pre-med since I was a freshman in college. I’m 26 about to be 27.

on my actual application I included my entire undergrad and grad (2011-2019) here’s the background

GPA: 3.77 BCPM undergrad and 3.7 grad gpa MCAT: covid cancellation tbd (July 23) Research hours: 10000 hrs+ Leadership experiences: 400 hours Medical paid work: 600 hours Medical volunteering: 250 hours Shadowing: 170 hours Non medical volunteering: 300+ hours Publications: 4 peer review publications (1 first author), 2 submitted publication (1 first author) Science merit Research Awards: international, national and local

I was wondering if anyone who had a PhD prior to applying could share their experience during the application process. I haven’t been able to find many ppl with a PhD prior to med school (I know this route is uncommon). I would appreciate it a lot!

1) how many schools did you apply to/get secondaries/interviews acceptances?

2) what was your GPA/ MCAT

3) any additional advice during this process?

No discouragements please.

Members don't see this ad.

1. This will depend on several factors not mentioned here (MCAT, state of residence, insight as shown in the quality of your essays...).
2. This is just a starting point.
3. A PhD is a great accomplishment. It has relatively little to do with success in an application to medical school.

Reactions: 3 users