PhD Counselor Education (CACREP) or PhD Counseling Psych (APA)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rachelw

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am comparing PhD Counseling Psychology vs. PhD Counselor Education. Hope to get feedback from you guys!

My background: 35-year-old, married, work in non-psych field, have BA and MA but they are NOT in psychology (in humanities, anthropology, literature, languages…). High GPA & GRE. Ultimate goal: PhD. Career: To work in a University Counseling Center, teach undergrad or grad classes; possibly have a private practice on the side.

Since I have no Psych background, I plan to enter a Master’s program first. I may get my Master’s in Counseling, or at least enter the program to complete some graduate-level work (so that I have some higher-level psych/counseling courses in my transcript) before applying to PhD.

Whether I complete my MA or not depends on whether my eventual goal is Counselor Ed or Counseling Psych PhD. Please let me know what you think:

PhD in Counseling Psychology (APA-accredited)

Pros:
1. More career options than PhD Counselor Education /LPC: Psychologists can do assessments.
2. Most staff at University Counseling Centers seems to be PhD in Counseling Psych. (Can PhD Counselor Ed folks work in university counseling centers?)
3. Able to teach at university-level, undergrad or grad.
4. Respected as a “Psychologist” not “Counselor”
5. Able to enter the doctoral program as non-Psych major plus some Psych/Counseling undergrad/graduate work. MA in Counseling is not required.
6. PhD students are funded (average $18K a year?)
7. In private practice: Able to see patients with insurance (Madicare, Medicaid). LPC can't bill Medicare.

Cons:
1. More Time Investment: 5-6 years for PhD (regardless of your Master’s), plus 1 year internship = Total 6-7 years.