PhD in one year, but an MD... never

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gwen11

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I think I just wanted some cheering up about my MCAT practice score. I've read many advice articles/threads on studying, know the structure and what I need to cover before the real thing, so basically my real issue now is feeling so discouraged. I'd like to hear any personal stories about success on the MCAT and medical school applications despite some crazy family/work/medical issues and obligations and how you handled it.

I'm currently one year away from my PhD and I've been out of undergrad for several years. In undergrad, I was going through physical and sexual abuse by my father and although I graduated, I failed one year. My dream was to do a joint MD/PhD program, but I knew I would never get in with my low GPA. I never bothered to take the MCAT, applied to Masters and PhD programs and started pursuing my PhD in Neurobiology, all the while regretting not pursuing my dream of doing the joint degree. In 2013, I went through a lot of personal struggles and I was so fed up with the life I was living that I decided to apply to med schools and turn my life around in 2014.

I am currently taking an online Kaplan course and I've been slacking. PhD work is frankly taking a toll on me and I'm gone from home 7 am - 9 pm and work most weekends. When I get home, I either fall asleep during the class because I'm wiped out or don't get anything out of it despite many cups of coffee because of a mental haze. I just exist in a perpetual state of exhaustion and juggling academics, family, family losses, personal life, and health issues currently seems impossible.