PhD/PsyD VS. LCSW

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TMS@1987

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophmore undergraduate student majoring in psychology. my Ultimate goal is to become a therapist and potentially go into private practice. I also hope to travel the world and work in England, Australia, France, etc.

My problem is is that I really can't decide between going for a PhD/PsyD or and MSW and potentially be licensed as an LCSW. I want to go for the PhD/PsyD because I like the idea of being a Doctor, I want to have the best training so I can provide the best treatment for my patients, I have an interest (however small) in potentially teaching in a college/university, and, although I know I will never make the big bucks, I would like to make money.

However, I do have concerns. I am incredibly intimidated by the idea of going on for a PhD. I have never be what one would consider a "brain", although I have aced all my psych classes so far. I am just scared that I don't have what it takes to get through a PhD/PsyD program.

On the other hand, the MSW seems like such a more tempting and practical option. Its shorter, cheaper, and I can have my own practice. but I just can't shake the feeling that if I go for the MSW I'm gonna feel like I settled for second-best and I'm gonna regret it.

What do you guys suggest? How was the PhD/PsyD program for you guys? was it overwhelming? do you have regrets about it? are you glad you did it?

Members don't see this ad.

Can anybody offer input on if you can open your own private practice with an MA in clinical psychology? Can you still do well for yourself with an MACL? What is the highest salary that you can make with an MA in clinical psychology?