Books2ReadMe

10+ Year Member
Mar 28, 2010
Auburn, Alabama
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hello, everyone.

My GPA is a 3.57, and I'm currently a 4th year PhD student at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. I wanted to apply to medical school during the upcoming cycle (2021-2022), but I was unable to secure more shadowing and clinical experiences in 2020 due to COVID-19 (a familiar story). I plan on shadowing for about 100-150 hours this year on top of scribing. I will take my MCAT in June or September 2021.

I will apply to at least 20 schools, including Harvard, UCSF, NYU and Stanford. Does anyone have suggestions that would improve my application aside from a high MCAT score?

URM: Black (African American)
State of Residence: Alabama

Stats
3.57 cGPA
3.48 sGPA
MCAT (have not taken)

Degrees
Biomedical sciences, BS
Spanish, BA

Clinical Shadowing
Surgical Oncology - 15 hours

Volunteering (Non-clinical)
Regional Food Bank - Spanish interpreter and food distributor (50 hours)
Spanish Translator for Immigration Court proceedings (15 hours)
COVID-19 Safety Ambassador (25 hours)

Volunteering (Clinical)
Cancer Center Infusion - bedside assistance (50 hours)

Mentorship
Hopkins PREP Peer Mentor - 2 years
Laboratory training of high school and undergraduate students - 60 hours

Publications (2010-2020)
9 publications (mostly in ACS journals)
- 1 first-author paper (expecting at least 1 or 2 more first-author paper before graduating in 2022)
- 2 second-author papers (2 additional manuscripts in preparation)
- 6 third/fourth-author papers

Presentations/Posters (2008-2020)
9 first-author presentations
- 8 poster presentations
- 1 oral presentation at an international research conference (2017)

Awards
Dean’s Research Award for Undergraduates (2010-2011)
Undergraduate Research Fellowship (2011-2012)
US Fulbright Scholars Program (Research), Spain (2013-2014)
STM/ICHO New Investigators Award (2017)

Last edited:
  • Sad
Reactions: 1 user

Banco