SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Physical Therapists as DOs?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by DrCookie, Dec 29, 2000.

1. DrCookie

DrCookie Junior Member

Dec 29, 2000
    NY
    Hello all... I am currently a year away from my BS in Physical Therapy. I want to pursue medical school, and am most intrigued by osteopathy... Can anyone offer any advice?? I love the hands on approach that osteopathy takes to healing people, a lot of which I am learning in PT school... Feel free to email me!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. ewagner

ewagner Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Nov 22, 1998
    Well there cookie,
    I practiced in PT for three years in indianapolis, I got my PT degree at IU, and served as a CI for three universities. I then went back to med school, UHS, and only applied to DO programs. Now, I am in the middle of my third year.
    First things first, one must get past the PR of the AOA. "Osteopathy" as a hands on approach has NOT changed in 50 years. PT is far more researched and far better researched than ANY bit of manipulative medicine paper that comes from DO programs. And that is probably a good thing. DO's as a medical profession MUST learn the fields of Pathology, Pharmacology, Microbiology, Internal Medicine and Surgery best. They must also learn when to refer OUT for manual medicine (PT, OT, and RT). PT's etc practice rehab medicine and that is it. Who better to treat a patient complaints needing hands on care?? I know, I have seen and practiced with both professions! This is in no way knocking my own profession...my school prepared me wonderfully for medicine and I did well on both the USMLE and COMLEX.
    But once you get past rhetoric, and the isolated school lab experience...MANAGEMENT of musculoskeletal complaints is what DO's should master and NOT the manual treatment. We are best suited for ruling out medical disorders and medical management of the patient.