Physican Shadowing question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

artaxerxes

Leg Kicker
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, can anyone share their experiences with shadow in terms of how they obtained it and what kind of format/timeframe they used.

Also, is it inapropriate to shadow/request to shadow your own primary care physician? or is that perfectly fine

Members don't see this ad.

i shadowed 2 different docs. here's what i did:

for doc #1: one of the hospitals nearby had email addresses of all of the docs. i emailed a ton (probably about 10-15) in a specialty that i was interested in. i was only able to shadow her for one day.

for doc #2: i called a ton of local private/group practices in the area. i explained that i was a pre-med student looking to gain more exposure in the medical field. i asked to speak directly with the physician, if available. i called about 25 different places, but i was only able to speak with one doc. thankfully, that doc let me shadow him. this doc, i've been shadowing him the whole day once a week.

thanks for the info, might have to do the cold call method

I was thinking about asking my pcp, but I think she's still in residency, which might not be a good idea.

Members don't see this ad :)
you might want to ask your doc if she knows anybody you can shadow. there's nothing wrong with shadowing a resident, but i've heard that you generally don't want to ask your own doc to shadow them.

also you can check with your premed advisor or with the education departments at any hospitals nearby. some hospitals have formal shadowing programs for students interested in medicine

unfortunately hospitals around me don't really have structured programs. As a poster above mentioned, it might not be appropriate to ask your own PCP for shadowing, I'm wondering if thats because of a precieved conflict of interest, poor ettiquote, or something else?

oh, and ttt!