Physician Assistant deciding to go to medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

michelnj

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! New to Forums here. Little background. I am a physician assistant who has been practicing for three years. My background includes my entirety of my career as a PA in orthopedic surgery and another 2 1/2 years working in urgent care concurrently. Been contemplating going back for about the past six months, and I finally decided to do it. Just a couple questions I have been wanting to ask. Hope all of you can help.

My GPA cumulative throughout college was a 3.85, and my science GPA was a 3.75. All of my prerequisites we’re good for the schools I want to go to (includes DO and MD).

I have not taken my MCAT as of yet But I have been studying and plan on taking it within the next six weeks.

I am wondering what you guys think I should shoot for my on MCAT with my background and my GPA. My goal is to get hopefully between 505-515. All advice is appreciated.

On a sidenote, I am also aware of the PA to DO program at LECOM And have already applied there without an MCAT score.

Thank you everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPAs are great and as long as you have a good answer as to why you want to switch from PA to MD/DO then I'm sure your work experience will be valued highly also.

Depending on what state you live in, I think you'd be competitive for your public MD or some low tier MDs with a 508 or so. I think a 510+ and broad application to MDs would yield acceptances.

Honestly anything 504 or greater and I'd be shocked if you dont get into DO programs.

You're in good shape, just focus on the MCAT and dont rush an application or MCAT attempt. Take it when you're ready. Good luck.

Reactions: 1 user