dreams

10+ Year Member
Jun 24, 2007
Jacksonville,FL
Status
Pre-Medical
I am trying to decide if I should pick up a bio major, I am a post-bac student now and my undergrad GPA is not so great (this is the reason for post-bac work) however, I have been doing upper level post-bac work for 4 semesters (GPA post-bac 3.6) and I will be taking the MCAT this June. I was advised to pick up a Bio major while doing post-bac, and at the time this seemed ok however, after thinking about it more, I am wondering if most MD schools would like to see another degree from post-bac work (with this I would have to take lower/upper level classes) and I would not have time for research; or I could continue with my post-bac (taking upper level classes and grad level). I am not sure which one to do since I do not know what most schools would perfer, any suggestions????

Cegar

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 17, 2008
Status
Anything to improve your GPA.

Even with gobs of research, you wont get in anywhere with a 2.8.

OP
D

dreams

10+ Year Member
Jun 24, 2007
Jacksonville,FL
Status
Pre-Medical
Anything to improve your GPA.

Even with gobs of research, you wont get in anywhere with a 2.8.
yes I know that which is why I am doing post-bac (as stated before), and both choices would improve my GPA(if I did well of course), so I am trying to decide which one, the extra major=2000 and 3000 level classes (Human Bio, Calc, A and P II, Ecology, etc) while the other would include 3000, 4000, and 5000 level classes(Histology, Immunology, Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience, etc) but with no Bio major to show for it; just didn’t know which would be better to do

Cegar

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 17, 2008
Status
It sounded like you were going to either get both the bio major and grad-level postbacc work or only the postbacc work and research.

Perhaps I'm not so sure of what you're trying to say.

Perrotfish

Has an MD in Horribleness
10+ Year Member
May 26, 2007
Status
Attending Physician