Pimping?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smoke This

Sweet cuppin' cakes!
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have heard the term used and gather it has a negative connotation...but what is it? How do med students/residents deal with pimping? I'd like to know...

Members don't see this ad.

The doctor I lived with when I was an undergrad describe pimping as being asked a question on a certain diagnosis to the point where you're talking about the inner most biochemistry and then ..... you get stumpped!!! :D

Just being asked a question related to the patient being presnted when you're half-awake on morning rounds and half-asleep when on evening rounds. :)

I unfortunately won't experience the joys of being pimped until August 6th. :D

Members don't see this ad :)
That's it? That's not as bad as I thought (hope I don't eat my words in 5 years) :)

Originally posted by turtleboard:
Just being asked a question related to the patient being presnted when you're half-awake on morning rounds and half-asleep when on evening rounds.

Ummm, my experience with pimping is a bit harsher than what you described. Pimping is when an attending (or resident) starts asking you questions during rounds, in the OR, at the bedside, etc about a certain topic of interest -- if you get the question right, then they ask you another, then another, then another, until you get one wrong. Even after you get it wrong they might still keep asking you questions. Oftentimes the questions are "guess what I'm thinking" questions. Pimping can be very nervewracking, especially if you're not too comfortable with the topic you're discussing.