Feinberg vs. Pitt

• Total voters
Apr 21, 2019
Status
  1. Pre-Medical
Hey yall, I'm stuck and I'm looking for some outside input between these 2 schools. I'm currently deciding between these 2 powerhouse school and I'm lucky to be in this position, but also have been left and right between them for some time now. I am primarily interested in surgery, more specifically Orthopedics, but definitely open-minded within surgery. I have great connections built at Pitt since I did my masters there, but I feel like I am turning down a great opportunity at NW by staying at Pitt. Overall just confused!

Pitt Med
Pros
  • Lower living costs
  • Prestige
  • Super strong hospital system in almost every specialty, including orthopedics
  • Have very strong mentors in orthopedics from doing my masters at Pitt, have research projects already lined up and other strong mentors throughout Pitt Med faculty
  • Huge research emphasis
  • UPMC is very well known all around for anything surgical
  • Have friends that will be M1s with me
  • Great vibes from other prospective students post-interview
  • Amazing M3/M4 years
  • Overall advising seems strong based on student anecdotes
  • More family feel
  • I would love to match at UPMC
  • Strong match-list overall
  • Probably has every department and sub-department possible in medicine at UPMC
  • Only medical school in Pittsburgh
Cons
  • Very small financial aid package, so COA is most expensive of the 2 schools
  • The City of Pittsburgh is not as diverse (matters to me being a URM)
  • M1/M2 years curriculum is a bit old school, student anecdotes that M1 year is a bit of a crap show
  • Not my favorite interview day based on current students (had tons of exams that day), but prospective students talked to post-interview help accommodate for this
  • Not active in marketing their school and reaching out to prospective students
  • Not the best-looking facilities

NW Feinberg
Pros
  • Prestige