Pitt (OOS) vs. SIU (IL)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beeepbooop

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! On December 3rd, I got accepted to multiple schools and the two I'm stuck between are Pitt and SIU. I was born and raised in PA (my parents still live in the state) but have been living in Chicago for the past two years, so I'm an IL resident. Because I'm connected to both state, I have support systems close to both schools.

The schools themselves:
- Pitt: I adored Pitt from the time I got my interview invitation to the moment I got my acceptance. The labs/clinics are updated, they offer unique courses, like a dental anesthesia course, have tons of dental clubs/frats, and they have a bunch of nearby facilities for students to take advantage of, like the student gym.
- SIU: I didn't know much about SIU going into my interview, but I was pleasantly surprised with it since the only thing I knew before was "middle of nowhere!!!" The labs are updated and they have this anatomy computer thing that they've begun to use to facilitate learning anatomy. The clinic looked fine, not super new, but not old by any means. The student who did my tour said the students are really active in ASDA and there are perks for the students (like gyms) at the Edwardsville campus that's 20 minutes away. SIU doesn't have residents which they cite to be advantageous since then the dental students get all the cases.
The surrounding areas:
- Pitt: I like Pittsburgh a lot and it would be nice to have my parents closer than they are now (they're 3.5 hrs from Pitt--close, but not too close). I have a number of friends who have lived in the area but since moved away and they love the city.