Plans for next year - need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Odyssean

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I just graduated from Loyola University Chicago as a Biology major in the Honors Program and would like some advice on what you think I should do next year. I graduated with an overall gpa of 3.6 and BCPM of 3.63 and have pretty good ECs: 1) Worked at a hospital in admitting for 1.5 yrs, 2) Research assistant at a chicago medschool for half a year 3) Did research for >1 year at Loyola and got a scholarship for it, 4) Still volunteering at a hospital for >1 year in ED, 5) Was involved with Alpha Epsilon Delta as a national member, 6) Other stuff, not really medically related.

I am currently applying to three Masters program around Chicago but I would rather avoid them due to cost. I would rather get a job that is major-related while still volunteering or even volunteer abroad. Another option is to simply take a couple classes at my university as a post-bach to simply keep in school for that one year. I am taking the mcat soon and expect to get something around 31 based on diags. So what would you guys recommend based on this?

1) Do Masters
2) Do Post-bach/volunteer/work part-time
3) Work full-time (major-based) and volunteer

Thanks for the input.

Members don't see this ad.

do you still live in Rogers Park? i might be able to hook you up with a job at St. Francis in the ER if you're interested. i'm not sure what you've been doing as a volunteer, but actually working as a tech might give you more hands-on experience (and a paycheck, zing!) you could get more clinical exposure and possibly do some community service type stuff at the same time.