Playing sports

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by MaybeMD, Aug 21, 2002.

1. MaybeMD

MaybeMD Senior Member

I am thinking about playing baseball, but I don't want to do it if it will hurt my chances of getting into medical school. But I will do it if adcoms look more favorably at an applicant that can juggle sports and still keep good grades. Let me know all you can, especially from those of you that did play sports in your undergraduate school.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. BradMcC17

BradMcC17 Member

I'm a senior in undergrad and I've been playing football all 4 years. I think schools look favorably on sports with its many positive aspects (teamwork, hard work, performing under pressure). But with football it was easier because I hardly missed class cuz the games were always on Sat. But with baseball your going to have games during the week. Thats a hard decision, but I'd say play and have fun. Live up and experience undergrad.

4. Cydney Foote

Cydney Foote Senior Member

The vast majority of our residents and fellows at UW had been very active in sports (both team sports and individual activities like running, swimming, etc.) in college. I think that demonstrating strong outside interests (be it baseball, drama, music, etc.) while maintaining a very good GPA tells the adcomm that you are a balanced human being, not just an automaton who does more than attend classes and study. It'll also give you good material for your essays. However, keeping up your GPA is essential. If that starts to slip because of your athletic activities, you might want to consider changing to a sport that doesn't take such a toll on your academics.

5. dr kevin40

dr kevin40 Senior Member

playing sports team won't really help your med school application significanlty (while it does help for colleges)

here's why