Medical Please be brutally honest. Should I give up?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lord999

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to see what are my chances at US MD schools. I am currently looking at Stony Brook, Emory, and 20 other international friendly schools as my school list.

I am an international student (East Asian) without a green card. I did well mostly A, a couple of A- on my premed courses. But I got a few Bs in my graduate-level course and independent studies. I know that admission does not really care about major but I took many physical science/CS courses that were known to be challenging and are at grad level. My cGPA is 3.8.

I originally wanted to MD/PhD but that did not work out because I ended up switching labs a couple of times (abusive environments > depression) and now I am settled in a happier environment. But I don't have a publication(s) or 3+ years commitment of commitments to demonstrate my serious interest in research. I did 3-4 research poster presentations.

mentoring and tutoring experiences
volunteering hours 200+ hrs
clinical volunteering 100+ hrs (nursing home, childhood cancer survivors, pediatric patients)
shadowing 30 hrs (I am working on this right now)
research 40 hrs/week almost every semester + one summer

People are telling me that the chances are kind of low and I should do PhD (computational biology) or dentistry instead. What do you think?
Laconic statement: In all of this, what do you want out of your career?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user