:) Please chance me

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JayThomas

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, thank you for taking the time to review my information ! Here are my statistics!
cGPA: 3.4
sGPA: 3.3
MCAT: 32 P

I come from a state school (Alaska-UAA) which is a feeder school to UWSOM.I received a bachelors of biology from this school
I hold an RN degree and am one of the RN managers in the ER I currently work for. (I graduated with my BSN in 2010)
So, here's the catch. My first 2 years of school I ended with a GPA of 3.0. I failed 2 classes, and had a couple of C's intermixed with several A's. I re-took those classes and received A's and B's.
I have 2 withdrawals from my transcript, I re-took those classes and scored A's.
I volunteered in the ICU during my nursing school education, but that was in 2006, I have no current volunteer experience nor research experience (Work full time)
I have leadership abilities in work only.
I was a "March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Nominee for Emergency Nursing."
I serve as a member for my hospitals Quick Response Team, fill-in for IV team, and attend the palliative, hospice, and nutrition meetings.
I have great recommendations from 2 MD's and 2 ANP's from my hospital, and I'm not sure about the ones I received from faculty here at UAA

My Nursing School GPA was 3.07, and all of those credits now count as health elective credits.

So in summation: I have a strong clinical background with not-so-great GPA standings at a State College. I don't have any volunteer experience nor research due to working full time. I don't have many EC's other than the weekly meetings I attend at my hospital.
On a scale of 0-10, how would you rate me for a
Mid Tier School
Low Tier School

and again, thanks for taking the time to review this! It really means a lot to me

Members don't see this ad.