Please help decide my fate. Moving from CA to NV or TX & cGPA vs sGPA weight.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AtrociousGrades

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Long story short, I'm a late 30s CA resident and have pulled myself out of the depths of GPA hell as best I can, having gone from a from a 2.5c/2.4s gpa to a 3.15c/3.65s gpa over a 115 semester unit postbacc with a 3.9x.

My wife is now pregnant and we realized that even if I somehow got an acceptance in CA, there's only 1-2 schools that are in areas we'd actually want to live due to the absolutely obscene cost of living. That fact combined with the overwhelming possibility we'd be moving out of state for school anyway has lead us to realize that there is little reason to stay in CA, so we may as well move elsewhere in order to bolster my chances of staying in state in the areas that would be most conducive to being able to raise a family.

I am thinking of Nevada or Texas, and wherever we land is where we plan to set down roots and raise our family.

Nevada: I like the desert, I've been to Las Vegas before and I think we would be happy there. It looks like there's 2 MD schools and 1 DO school in state, with the possibility of a third MD school coming online. I know the state is in dire need of healthcare workers and I like the idea of being somewhere that I would be badly needed. Tuition ~120k if accepted in state. Still more likely than not to get acceptance out of state, but at least we get chance to stay there. I know this sound stupid, but in my heart I feel like I "belong" in the west. I'm 90% sure my wife would be happier here, but she thinks she'd be happy in either state. Much easier move, much easier for her family to visit and vice versa.