Please help!! Does where you go for your undergrad really matter!?!

carn311

Dead tired.
10+ Year Member
Jan 31, 2005
Midwest
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Disclaimer:

I enrolled in SUNY Albany only because it met the following criteria: I'm poor - its a state school and I live near albany - its in Albany. To this day I am regretting my decision and transferring to another institution outside of the capital region is not an option.

Let me also make it clear that I have met some very intelligent people at Ualbany, MANY of them premeds, but the VAST majority of undergraduates are there to party, have sex, and not touch a book with a 10 ft pole.​

That being said let me move on to my actual question....

My spider-sense began tingling early during my first semester there. I was a transfer student from one of the best community colleges on the east coast and knew what good students looked like; as stated above, these guys didn’t really fit the bill.

The next blow came when I got a strange email from the president of the university saying that the school: “needed to rise above the rating given to it by Princeton Review”. “What rating?” I asked myself. Well, its actually ratings. Remember these are NATIONAL rankings!

I'm just in awe... Im sorry I'm ranting on and on. But believe it or not the faculty and administration play into the students' idiocy. Example: we get the muslim new year off. (no offense to muslims) And we get TWO count them...TWO DAYS off for presidents DAY. And I could of course go on and on..

So my question is...will medical schools know that my school is a joke when I apply because of of its horrid reputation and disreguard my application because of it. Ive checked mdapplicants.com and there were only two guys who posted who went to Ualbany and one persons stats were pretty good and he didnt get into very many schools.

I really need help guys because I either stick it out here or pay 40K a year at the local engineering school (RPI).

AStudent