Please Help, In DIRE NEED of advise :(

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by sky91, Jun 24, 2012.

1. sky91

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Hello, this is my first time posting here and I hoping to get some advise from you all.

Ok here goes I went to UC straight from high school (entered as Bio Sci major) toward the end of my first year/beginning of 2 year i fell ill (Ulcers) my GPA fell to 2.18.

I decided to take a leave of absence from the UC and go back home for a while i took classes at a JC at the same time. I stayed at the JC for 3 years finishing Gen-Chem (C's both semesters) (Physics- C's both semester) Calculus (B's both semesters) GPA around ~ 1.9 I know terrible i was dealing with alot of personal issues. I came back to the UC fall 2011 and current GPA is 2.26 and i have one more year .

At this stage i don't know what to do?! I want to finish my degree Sociology (not take anymore science classes) and perhaps do a postbacc but i don't know if that's still possible. Please help!! I need advise

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. eggs13

eggs13 Lift Heavy, Get Tough
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    to be brutally honest, with a 2.26, you have no shot of getting into a MD or DO medical school in the United States. I think it would be best to reevaluate what interests you in life other than medicine, because unless you get that GPA to over a 3 (which would take A LOT of work), your shot at medical school is 0%.

4. tea20

5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I would suggest you to start a new major because 2.26 it's way to low :( .. If you have patience time really do a second major take High grades mostly A's and then consider a post bacc or smth to strength ur application. Is it ok if you start a new major ?? Have you ever consider it ?

5. tea20

5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Yes that's a good choice finish sociology with a great gpa and than do a formal post bacc or spm