Please help me choose schools to apply to

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ziggy08

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm applying in the 2008 admissions cycle and need some help in choosing schools. hmmm, I have good MCATs and GPA, founded a global health organization at my university, participate on a board with faculty in planning our new global health minor, work a job as a writing tutor, did both clinical and cardiac lab research, am a Goldwater scholar (so I'll be applying MD/PhD). I think my clinical experiences are likely a little low, but I think I really learned a lot from shadowing and the clinical research I did, and I'm really excited to be volunteering in Ghana this summer in eye health services.

So, I'm considering these schools so far. (I'm also a Texas resident).

UT Southwestern
UT Houston
UTMB
Baylor (not sure... am not really a Houston fan :) Wanna convince me otherwise? :cool: )

Harvard
Johns Hopkins
UPenn
Washu
UCSF
Stanford
Duke
Columbia
Univ. of Chicago
Mount Sinai
NYU

Do you think this is too many? Too few? I'd be overjoyed to get into any of the top schools, but my sentimental wish is to get into UT Southwestern. (working there in a lab after high school, it was my first exposure to medical research, and I had a wonderful experience)

Although I want to apply MD/PhD (preferably MSTP) to these schools, I'd like to apply straight-MD as well. What do you guys think about doing that? Does applying this way limit your acceptance chances? Also, do you have to specify the PhD program you're applying to?

Members don't see this ad.

what are your stats? Can't give you any useful advice without them

Your list does seem too top heavy though, unless you've got amazing stats and aren't worried.