Please help me out!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Prehealth92

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my senior year, and I do not have any plans for after I graduate. I'd like to apply to medical schools this summer (2015), but I am not competitive. I am Asian and attend a "top 20 school" by USNews. Should I apply this summer or take 2 gap years? Should I work as a medical scribe or take more science classes?
GPA (with grade replacement): 3.39
Science GPA: 3.2
BCP GPA: 3.2
MCAT: 28 (aiming for a 31/32 on second try)
Major: biology

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am in my senior year, and I do not have any plans for after I graduate. I'd like to apply to DO medical schools this summer, but I am not competitive. I am Asian and attend a "top 20 school" by USNews. Should I apply this summer or take 2 gap years? Should I work as a medical scribe or take more science classes?

Summer is gone, dude. Besides, you should post in the premed forum.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I am in my senior year, and I do not have any plans for after I graduate. I'd like to apply to medical schools this summer, but I am not competitive. I am Asian and attend a "top 20 school" by USNews. Should I apply this summer or take 2 gap years? Should I work as a medical scribe or take more science classes?

It's still early for the DO cycle, but your GPA is a bit low. You can take a chance but know that you might rejections or WLs based on your GPA. If you feel uncomfortable with that then retake any C/D/F courses and apply next year.

It's too late for MD and with the stats you're providing you'll be handing out donations.

Working as a scribe is always a plus. But if you've had clinical experience via volunteering then you'll be fine.

What're your other ECs?