Please help! Nontrad applicant just found out traffic ticket is a misdemeanor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GEDrtMD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I received a ticket for speeding in Texas 8 years ago. I did not pay the ticket due to extreme financial hardships I had at the time. I saw the ticket on my credit report in 2013 and called in and paid it. Because I didn't pay it for so long, I was also charged with "failure to appear". I just found out that both the speeding ticket and failure to appear are misdemeanors in Texas. The problem is I indicated on Amcas that I did not have any misdemeanors because never in a million years did I think a minor traffic violation would result in something like this. In my state, all moving violations are just considered "traffic offenses." I work in a hospital and am a licensed healthcare professional and this has never been brought up in any background check before. Please help, how do I handle this? I've overcome so much to get to this point and now I'm terrified I've ruined my chance at my dream.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

This happened to me. I was asked about it and answered that I didn't know that it was a misdemeanor and that AMCAS said not to indicate traffic violations.

Does AMCAS say not to indicate traffic violations? Do you have any suggestions for how I should handle it considering that now I do know that it's a misdemeanor? I've only submitted to one school so far since I don't have my mcat score yet.

Members don't see this ad :)
Does AMCAS say not to indicate traffic violations? Do you have any suggestions for how I should handle it considering that now I do know that it's a misdemeanor? I've only submitted to one school so far since I don't have my mcat score yet.