Please help with suggestions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dualdx

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
nevermind.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi,

I am a newbie to this forum. I have been struggling with this step 3 for a couple of years now. The first time I took it I got a horrible score. I did not study well & I took it lightly (#2 pencil kinda thing). The second time around, did most UW and all of crush, plus cases from FA and got a much better score but still failed. I did average to above average on all of the categories except for musculoskeletal which was below average. This time around (got my score today), I did all of the UW (2x), cases from FA & UW & got a score that is worse than the first time around. Practically I did terrible in most of the categories except for maybe four. I was stunned as I thought I studied the most this time around. I want to turn around & take this step in about 8-10 weeks. What advice can you guys give me to attack this thing once & for all ? Do I read review books, go over premier notes, or just do more Q&A ? I thought of adding Qbook, Qbank, & maybe another source of questions, along with UW. I am very frustrated at this point and in need of much supportive advice. I would appreciate any & all recommendations.

How many times did it take you to pass step I and II? I guess I'm asking you this because in some states to practice, you can only take the steps so many times, and this could affect you... you also might want to ask to have this post this in the residency forum instead as you might get more responses there.

Members don't see this ad :)
It turns out I am in the same boat as the original poster from the quoted post in silas2642's reply. I have completed my intern year, and am taking time off to pass boards.