1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

please help

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by assyrian, May 14, 2002.

1. assyrian

assyrian Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

i matched into a categorical general surgery residency in this years match and i had signed the contract with my hospital and had all my paperwork done. now my hospital has sent me a mail saying that i have to sign a new contract with them, bcos their VA sponsors about 10 of their residents and a slot has become available now. my question is whether this is normal in programs or is my program having second thoughts about having taken me in the match( i am a foreign graduate and so maybe they arent that happy). i would appreciate if any of the residents could help me.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. andy toth

andy toth Member
    7+ Year Member

is it an identical contract? it may be something they forgot to put in the original package.

what exactly does the cover letter say? does it say "we are making everyone re-sign their contacts because someone did not return a contract"?

from what i could gleam; when one matches via nrmp, it's over, you got it. from that point on it may just be a miscommunication on one side, or via intermediary (national postal system).

everything is probably okay; call the program immediately and see what's up. and use dhl for the rest of the communications you have with your hospital; time is running out for visas, etc.

& i don't think programs are /that/ unhappy about accepting IMGs.

4. assyrian

assyrian Junior Member
    7+ Year Member