Please Read, Recent 2.2 GPA UG and need advice on the best route to medical school.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JDior

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So basically I graduated in dec. 2013 with a 2.2 GPA UG. I was a college athlete and very sick for my last year of school (in and out of the hospital). However, I am better now, and I am still determined to become a doctor. I just want to know what are the next steps I should take. I mean I know of course I could just retake the pre-reqs over again, but will the retakes be accepted. I also have been hearing that I should get my BSN (accelerated 2 yr program) get great grades on that, get a killer mcat score, and then apply. Everyone's advice is all over the place. So can anyone help? I know that this journey is going to be long, but I can be patient.

Members don't see this ad.

So basically I graduated in dec. 2013 with a 2.2 GPA UG. I was a college athlete and very sick for my last year of school (in and out of the hospital). However, I am better now, and I am still determined to become a doctor. I just want to know what are the next steps I should take. I mean I know of course I could just retake the pre-reqs over again, but will the retakes be accepted. I also have been hearing that I should get my BSN (accelerated 2 yr program) get great grades on that, get a killer mcat score, and then apply. Everyone's advice is all over the place. So can anyone help? I know that this journey is going to be long, but I can be patient.

1. Retake all low grades and get A's.
2. Apply DO (allows grade replacement)
3. Profit.

Getting a BSN seems pointless. Also a killer MCAT will not make up for a 2.2 GPA. Even doing another undergrad degree will still leave you with a lowish GPA for MD schools.

Reactions: 1 user