Please Read: RN aspiring to be a MD. Need advice. BSN vs BS.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xHarvestMoonx

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
(I know my post is very long. Sorry. Please bear with me.)

Hi everyone. I've been lurking on the SDN forums for a while, and finally decided to make a account.

I'm going to provide you guys with a little backstory so that you can fully understand my dilemma.
I am currently 21 years old and hold licensure as a RN and a LPN. I started in the healthcare field at a young age. I received my LPN licensure at 18 (part of a high school nursing program), and have been working ever since as a LPN. I recently graduated in May with my Associate of Science in Nursing and also recently obtained my RN licensure. I currently work as a RN Charge Nurse and a Nursing Supervisor.

I'm not going to lie, I was forced into the nursing program by my parents when I was in high school. I did end up liking it though. When college approached, it was somewhat assumed by our teachers that we would all continue to further our education in nursing. I didn't even work as a LPN and resumed school right away when college started and decided to continue my education with nursing. So I didn't really have any experience working as a LPN before I began my RN program. I realized halfway into my RN program that I still really want to pursue medicine - something that has always been an aspiration of mine. My mom again, forced me to finish my RN program and said afterwards I can do whatever I want. Throughout my RN program I worked as a LPN - and that verified to me that nursing does not fully fulfill my goals and aspirations.

So here I am now. I have taken a semester off to apply to schools and figure out what direction I would like to go in. I still would like to pursue a career in medicine. Now onto my question (finally!)