Poland: English Taught Programs - Jagiellonian, Poznan, Lodz, Warsaw, Wroclaw, Gdansk

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mattoprolol

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a US non-traditional pre-medical student: 25yo, BSc Psychology, been out of school for a few years, Paramedic since age 18. I am applying to most polish schools with particular interest in Jagiellonian 4 year program because of clinical rotations in the US.

Any others interested in Poland?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm thinking about applying for the upcoming Fall class after having an unsuccessful application cycle here in the US (1 waitlist, that's it). I'm mostly considering Jag because of the 4 year program and because my cousin is currently doing the 6 year program there (although he's not planning on doing residency in the US, he's from Norway, and probably will have a less stressful time when it comes to landing a residency spot) but he still loves going to school there. I'm just very wary of their match success rate and the amount of extra effort you have to put in to be a successful IMG in the US (ie. score above average on Step 1 to match, etc.)...Have you looked into any of these issues?

I have investigated, I have some good personal connections to some residency programs here in the US so I am a little more comfortable about going abroad. I personally don't want to come back to the US so for me I would probably return and do a US residency with the hopes of going elsewhere in the world to practice. When I interviewed for JAG we discussed match rates and a lot of the data that I found online was incorrect. The people who calculated the publicly published match rates didn't account for students who chose to stay in Poland to do their residency there, they counted those individuals as non-matched students. The match rate was in the 90s for students that actually wanted to get a US res.