This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

deleted1023083

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
If you want MD you gotta retake the MCAT. But honestly, if you get 510 or more your chances of MD are pretty solid. If you don't do substantially better DO may the more probable option. Either way, apply to both.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello I have applied to medical school twice now and need some advice. I am an ORM Missouri resident.

My cGPA is a 3.90 and sGPA is a 3.80

I have a 504 MCAT (128/122/126/129)

1st cycle: 1 interview to state school ------> rejected post interview

2nd cycle: 2 interviews: 1 interview to state school -----> rejected post interview ; I have a second interview coming up in a few weeks at TCU-UNT so there is still hope :)

I am open to applying DO next cycle and want to have a set plan. I have always wanted to be an MD. Do I try to retake MCAT or get masters to improve chances for MD? or do I surrender and go to a DO school?

Here are my ECS:

1) Medical assistant- 3000 hours
2) Hospice volunteer- 100 hours
3) ER volunteer- 85 hours
4) Medical mission trip to Nicaragua- 60 hours
5) Research in lab at undergrad- 750 hours
6) Clinical research for a summer- 350 hours
7) Phi beta Kappa-> honor society member
8) Scholarship chairman for fraternity (leadership position)- 500 hours
9) volunteer for after school program working with disadvantaged kids- 35 hours
10) other community volunteering- 40 hours
11) shadowing- 216 across specialties and family med
If you're gunning for MD, you need to retake the MCAT and score 510+.

Get in more clinical experience. The Central American trips will be viewed as medical tourism.

You also need more service to others less fortunate than yourself. And no more shadowing or research either. 200+ hours shadowing is major overkill.