Possible to Gain Research Exp Volunteering?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Exploring789

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a BA (double major) in Psychology and English and also a credential to teach English grades 7 to 12 in my state. I've worked since my graduation in 1996 in various fields like advertising, proofreading, writing, editing, etc.

I have no work experience related to psychology and I didn't know going in as a college freshmen that I'd add the psychology major my junior year! So, I didn't exactly go to a large university with research opportunities.

My question is how to make up for this lack of research experience now if I want to apply for PhD in clinical? It is hopeless? I've put off the grad school decision for years out of fear of the GRE and knowledge that I had no research experience.

My undergrad GPA was 3.5. I haven't taken the GRE in many years, but am planning on studying (this time!) and taking it.

I'm thinking there must be some kind of job or volunteer work I can do to gain more focused references and also research experience. I have plenty of time to devote to this.

Should I just apply for an MS in general psychology with a thesis? My idea is that I could gain the research experience and then apply for the PhD after getting the MS. Not sure what kind of job I could get with the MS...

I've read about the MSW but I'm just not that interested aspects of social work other than the therapy. In fact, as an undergrad I changed the social work major to psychology since I liked those classes better.

If clinical seems hopeless for me, is experimental psy less competitive and perhaps more willing to overlook the lack of research experience (ironically)? I love the research aspect, but am not convinced of having ample job opportunities with the experimental degree.