Possible to study for oral boards alone?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

otacon88

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm taking the oral boards next month and kind of slacked on doing any prep work for it. Just got the Okuda book....is it possible to practice/study alone for the oral boards and still pass? Or would it be beneficial to take an oral board review course?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm taking the oral boards next month and kind of slacked on doing any prep work for it. Just got the Okuda book....is it possible to practice/study alone for the oral boards and still pass? Or would it be beneficial to take an oral board review course?

I am studying for the oral boards using that book now. I actually conscripted my wife (who is not a physician or anything medical at all) into helping me by proctoring the cases. I think it is a huge advantage to have someone administer the case to you and parcel out only the information you explicitly ask for. I feel that if I just read the cases, I would fool myself into thinking 'of course I'd remember to ask for X', while remembering those kind of artificial details are a big part of what preparing for the oral boards is for. Thankfully the book is written in a manner that does not require the examiner to have any specific medical knowledge other than what is written in the examiner instructions. Your non-medical spouse/significant other/friends have probably picked up on enough medical jargon over the years to get by as a practice instructor so get one of them to help. Also this has the unexpected advantage of giving them a partial insight into what exactly it is you do and what kind of decisions you have to make on a daily basis that is sometimes difficult for them to understand.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)