post bac science course - comm college or state school?

jav316

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 17, 2005
Status
hello,
i'm hoping someone can help me and appreciate any ideas. i'm trying to plan out what courses to take this summer. would it be better to take 2 bio courses at a community college in the evenings or 1-2 courses at a state school. i'm thinking of taking anat and phys 2 and basics of cell biology at the communty college. (please note the cell biology is not a high level; the course description indicates "Upon completion, students should be able to demonstrate preparedness for college-level biology courses." - is it even worth it for me to take this course? - i have a BS degree in biological technology). at the state school, i was thinking of doing cell biology and/or evolution.

the problem with taking the courses at a state school is that the courses are offered only during the day and i would have to try to work out an arrangement of working part-time or taking a leave of absence from my job and waitress part-time to cover living expenses. the summer courses at the state school are roughly one month in length, so it is not very long. the class meets for 1.5 hours every day plus a lab one day a week. however, i don't know that i am able to work out an arrangment and may have to look for a new job after the course is completed (which may not be very difficult as I have experience in my field and the job market in my area is pretty good now - i've received two job offers since jan that i have turned down). i'll be taking a financial hit if i do this though. my company would probably pay for the comm college, but if i leave them or go part-time, i may not receive the tuition reimbursment for state school tuition (which is also obviously higher than comm college).