Post-bacc science gpa boost: undergrad classes or masters classes?

Discussion in 'Re-Applicants [ MD / DO ]' started by Blondnuttyboy, May 15, 2007.

1. Blondnuttyboy

7+ Year Member

hey all,

my science gpa is somewhere around 3.4...i graduated this may and i'm more than likely looking to increase the science gpa. i have a few questions:

will adcoms weigh the difficulty of master's classes in comparison to undergrad classes? i could take like 15 units of bull**** science classes and go 4.0 OR i could take 6-9 units of more med school esque difficult masters classes.

also - even though taking a year of science will only boost me maybe .1-.15, will the effort look good nonetheless?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. gotmeds?

5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    If you want to boost your GPA, you'd be better off taking the 15 units of bull**** science classes, since they'll be factored into your UGGPA while master's classes will not. Although I'd be careful about being so cavalier about it. Aren't these the same bull**** science classes that got you a 3.4 in the first place?

4. Blondnuttyboy

7+ Year Member

heh heh that's a good point. my 3.4 is primarily from my freshie and soph year and i've matured well since then. My upper div GPA is ~ 3.7-3.8.

The only reason I had to question everything is because if i take master's classes, I'll actually be persuing something whereas undergrad classes are only a gpa boost. That's Im having trouble deciding which route will look better.

I can't understand how good grades with undergrad science would look better than good grades with masters classes.

5. gotmeds?

5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Also, keep in mind that starting a master's program that you have no intention of finishing might look bad. Taking more upper div science and doing well can only do good things for your application.

6. amartinezz43

2+ Year Member

Medical Student